Council for European Studies 2016 Book Award Nomination

The Council for European Studies biennially honors emerging talent with a prize for the best first book on any subject in European studies.

Each nominated title must meet the following criteria:

• is the first book written by the nominee in the field of European Studies;

• was or will be published between October 1, 2015 and September 30, 2017;

• is not a reprint or re-edition of a previously published book;

• is the work of one author only;

• the author is a member of the Council for European Studies or holds a full-time faculty appointment at an institution that is a member. 



Nominations may be submitted by the publisher, author or colleagues, and must be accompanied by eight (8) copies of the nominated title separately mailed to the Council for European Studies and the seven members of its Book Award Committee:

Rima Wilkes
Department of Sociology
University of British Columbia
6303 NW Marine Drive
Vancouver, BC

Morten Høi Jensen
343 Gold Street
Apartment 1211
Brooklyn, NY

Suzanne Forsberg 
865 West End Avenue
Apartment 8C
New York, NY, 10025

Floris Vermeulen
Department of Political Science
University of Amsterdam, Nieuwe Achtergracht 166
P.O. Box 15578, 1001 NB Amsterdam
The Netherlands

Maria Kousis
Department of Sociology
University of Crete, Gallos Campus
Rethimno, 74100

Virag Molnar
Department of Sociology
Room 1012, The New School
6 East 16th Street
New York, NY, 10003

James Schryver 
University of Minnesota, Morris
Humanities 104
600 E 4th Street
Morris, MN, 56267
An eighth submission should be sent to the main office: 

Council for European Studies
420 West 118th Street, MC 3307, New York, NY 10027, USA